Misfit Witchcraft

cover-book2-1-amazon

Now available, the next instalment of the Misfits series. I had absolutely no idea what to do for the cover of this, until this idea hit me this week. Honestly, I think it’s one of the better ones I’ve done, even if it’s a little dark in places.

36 responses to “Misfit Witchcraft

  1. Exxxxcellent. Time to get reading (well, as soon as Amazon catches up).

    Do you get paid extra if we use the Amazon links posted here rather than search the Kindle Store? Another author I read suggested that was the case.

  2. Maybe I should switch to Smashwords. My impatience can’t take it.
    “Amazon to follow…” is followed by two Amazon ads. πŸ˜€

    • Amazon is certainly taking its time today.

    • Okay, here’s my view on Amazon/Smashwords, and keep in mind I generally buy from Amazon:
      * I get a little more money (per book) from Smashwords than I do from Amazon.
      * Amazon is more convenient as a source, assuming you have a Kindle, or use a Kindle reader. With Smashwords, loading onto your reader is your problem; with Amazon it’s just there.
      * I do not feel I should recommend Smashwords (and get a few cents more) and so inconvenience my readers, but Smashwords has a shorter commissioning process, so you get the book a few hours faster, if you’re computer literate enough to handle shuffling the files around.
      So, I leave it up to the individual. Entirely up to the individual.

      As for the Amazon ads: I suspect you’ve been to Amazon enough to get them all over the place. Me? I tend to get adverts for DAZ, usually for things I already have.

      • I am using smashwords when available. You get more money, I don’t have to remove drm protection πŸ™‚

  3. “No one ever expects the undead necromancer spirits!” Muhahahaaaaa!

    • Someone got that one then. πŸ™‚
      This book has one or two… in-jokes in it.

      • I’m guessing the sausage-in-a-bun vendor might be named Dibbler

      • Maybe. To be honest, my sausage-in-a-bun vendors are always based a little bit on Dibbler. Some more than others. Of course, in his rat-on-a-stick mode, Dibbler is based on New York street vendors, and my other reference is always the dog I bought from a cart in Central Park. Only been there once and I just had to buy a hot dog…

      • Ha ha, Rainer beat me by a few days then! I reread the first book before starting on this, but I’ve noticed the Dibbler and Spanish Inquisition references πŸ˜‰ I’ll see if I can’t spot any more.

        Thanks for the great book, as always!

  4. I use Amazon, but after reading these comments I decided to try Smashwords. I had to sign up and all that, but making the purchase and getting it to my kindle app on my iPhone was no problem πŸ™‚

    • It shouldn’t really be too hard, but I’ve spent long hours walking my parents through copying files or whatever (they’re 80 and have an excuse), so I know some people can find it hard. Plus, with Amazon it’s click, wait, read; no messing about.
      Amazon are being really slow this time around. It’s been assigned an ASIN (B073YHWGJB), but it’s still in publishing. Some people may be able to find and buy it, depending upon area.

  5. It’s finally showing on Amazon UK.

  6. Will we get to see what Ramona looks like soon?

  7. Yay! Glad I’m caught up with the flood of new releases the last month so I read this this week.

  8. Oh, it’s up on amazon AU.

  9. Amazon links added. Ah, if only I hadn’t gone to bed at a reasonable hour with a throbbing headache, I could have put those up last night. (That was a bit sarcastic).
    Thanks to all who posted links earlier.

  10. Oh, and Krystal’s dracoform! …and Nighshade! … when you have time 😁

  11. That was…AWESOME!

    No spoilers, but… OMG…
    The girls who pestered them last term better be afraid now. They should be VERY afraid now. Misfits FOREVER!

  12. “… and he set something about thaumolytic energy conservation …”
    set = said, I’ll assume πŸ˜‰

    Novel wasn’t really for me. Well, it happens.

  13. @Tharcion, do you want editing feedback, or does it annoy you?

    If you do want it, then “dodecahedral” should probably be replaced. I am guessing that the window had 12 sides which would make it a dodecagon (the 2D figure). Docecahedron is 3D, like a 12-sided die.

    Also, for future writing you might want to check the distances traveled on foot. Granted, these are dragons, not humans, but assuming they are close when not in a draconic form, the mileage seems large for terrain that is not level and clear, especially for a group with some who are not regular hikers.

    • Well, you can sling editing comments my way, though I can’t always guarantee they’ll get changed. Frankly, it’s frequently entirely too much of a pain to get through the requirements. Amazon are insane about that kind of thing.
      The distances travelled were based on (relatively) realistic numbers and adjusted for geography. The numbers I have could be wrong and I’m not sure I’d be able to cover the distance in the time, but I trust the data to be at least reasonably realistic.
      Plus, you know, the singing helps. πŸ™‚

      • The singing definitely helps. πŸ˜€

        In my experience, Amazon allows far too frequent updating of books. It feels like some books get pushed to my Kindle’s front page every few weeks when the author updates the list of their apparently mass produced books.
        I don’t know Amazon’s requirements. Maybe those authors just go through a long process that often. If that’s the case, Amazon should penalize frequent updates instead… or just not push updated books to the front.

        Here are two typos you could fix in that potential update:
        “He had the tanned skin of a man who spent much of his outdoors, …” in part one: Missing “time”.
        “More worryingly, they found a fourth vine at ankle eight …” in part three: “eight” should be “height”.
        The long quotes are for ease of Ctrl-F. πŸ˜‰

      • Doing a first issue, a new book, on Amazon is not too bad. It’s basically the same as Smashwords, but it takes longer for them to process the book.
        If you do an amendment to an existing book, the process is messy and overly manual, and existing buyers may or may not get notified of the update depending on how they (Amazon) feel about it.
        And there are some people who seem to blast out short novels (probably pushing the meaning of that word) with a speed I never managed even when I first started. I’ve never read one, and I’m not sure I ever want to.

  14. Just bought and read it through and im pretty sure to know where you got your inspiration for this story came from (mlp) anyway its a great story

  15. Just for a bit of a laugh I just got an email alert from Amazon saying it’s now available πŸ˜‚

  16. There is a typo on your US Amazon description:

    –There’s a new student at the Celestina School of Magic; a girl with a secret only.

    I suspect there is supposed to be more words in that sentence.
    This was through the smile.amazon.com way to get there, in case that makes a difference.
    Can’t wait to start reading it!

Leave a Reply

