Misfit Magic

Okay, it’s out.

 

 

34 responses to “Misfit Magic

  1. A fairytale? You know how violent typical fairytales are?

    I’m about to travel five hours today and thought I needed to reread something old. Thank you for giving me this new book in time.

  2. Keith Hillis

    ://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B071YX38WC

  3. Little Nit: The word “Misfit” on the cover is not visible on my e-Reader. If you could provide us with a version with this word in white, I would be grateful.

  4. Excellent. Perfect for another rainy Sunday.

    • I’m due for a sunny Sunday with almost no chance of rain, but some cloud coming in in the afternoon. It sounds good, but actually it’s not ideal: my work desk faces the morning sun and I do like to get some work done before lunch.
      Hope you enjoy the book, and the rainy Sunday. 🙂

      • Well, it was OK for the rainy day. Honesty forces me to admit that I found it a bit too typical of this sort of “magic school” novels; sure, the heroine is kinda special, OK, there’s an obvious evil person planning nefarious things, bullies, fine, always got to be there … I think I hoped it’d be a bit more “quirky”. The girls were fun enough, but I thought there was more potential there.

      • I’m working on the quirky.

  5. Nice book, really like the content.

    Could you perhaps name the months and weekdays and in which order they are? Always like to understand these details when reading.

  6. Thanks for the quick reply!

    • Copy/paste is easy. 🙂
      I actually have to write this stuff down somewhere, otherwise I’ll forget it. Memory like a… a, um, you know… thing with holes in.
      Plus, I’d just finished watching a movie and there was your post.

  7. I was positively surprised how the apparently standard “new girls at the school” setup quickly turned into something very special. Especially the “arch enemy becomes friend” plot turn was unexpected.

    And I couldn’t fail to notice that Cragscale’s is a nice remake of Beema’s

    • I noticed that Cragscales’ was sounding somewhat like Boltsman’s place. Not intentional. I guess it’s how I see illustrious, old magic shops.

  8. Hmm not sure but this seems a little out of place: ***********************,
    Teasdale, Niall. Misfit Magic (Misfits Book 1) (Kindle Locations 1581-1582). Kindle Edition. ‘Had become Had?’

  9. Craig Mather

    I enjoyed the setting and the group dynamics, although I agree with some of the comments on the ‘Magic school’ novel feel to it, very much looking forward to the quirky.

    how many books have you got planned, after misfit witchcraft?

    also Cragscales reminded me very much of Boltzman’s emporium, sometime you just have to admit that if the mental image isn’t broken, don’t try and fix it.

    • Planned is such a strong word. 🙂
      There’s at least a third book in there which wraps up the current arc. There’s at least two years of school left after that, and something to do after school. I could keep going until I run out of ideas.

  10. Well I finished Misfit Magic the other day. I thought it had a slow start at first with the story but the 2nd half of the book was much better. Bit too much sex with the girl on girl thing for my taste. Still Krystal makes a good heroine and I grew to like her Scooby Gang. I do want to read the 2nd book to see where you go with the crew, especially Krystal…Not that I still want to read another Unobtainium story (hint).

  11. I just finished the book and loved it. The story is great but i don’t quite get wath the prologue got to do with any thing

    • Who do you think might that abandoned daughter be? Hint: It would most likely have ended up in a orphanage close to the “wild forest”.

      • Maybe, maybe not, it is still agood story and a question it raised in me is whey did they have to run in the first place.

      • Craig Mather

        What was the princess secret and is it something that was passed on to her daughter?

      • As River Song would say: ‘Spoilers…’ 🙂
        Always nice to get in a slightly obscure Doctor Who reference.

    • The prologues in these books aren’t always directly related to the book they’re in. The prologue is framed as a folk tale or fairy story (no fairies in Draconia, so they don’t have to term), so the wording doesn’t really match the reality. For example, there are no social ranks of prince or princess in Draconia. The story (in the prologue) might have absolutely no basis in (fictional) fact.

      But Rainer’s right.

      • There are no fairies on earth either but we still have the term so who said that the dragons of draconia don’t have a similar mystical creature that they use to describe ther popular folklore.

      • Well, I just did, but I actually do have some reasoning behind it. The term ‘fairy tale’ comes from around 1697, it’s not that old and modern folklorists prefer a different term.
        Our (modern) idea of fairies comes from the Victorians. They gentrified the far less cute creatures of British folklore, turning them into Tinkerbell. And the old ‘fairies’ were essentially an expression of the fear of ‘other.’ This is why you get changelings, boggarts and brownies, the ‘people of the mounds.’
        In Draconia, they have the spirits, both the ones who have passed into Necrodracona (but sometimes return) and the ones ‘locked out of Heaven,’ so to speak. There’s lore about them and what they can and can’t do, and they would be the mythical equivalent of fairies.
        So, the dragons would call stories about them ‘spirit tales,’ if they were going to use such a term. Except they don’t. They use folklore and folk tales. 🙂

      • Well the ther elf or fary cons form nors alf wich where the inhabitants of alfheim one of the nine worlds on yggdrasil

      • It’s not that easy. The ‘romantic’ fairy comes from British and French folklore, not Scandinavian. British folklore was influenced by the influx of settlers out of that region, but it had a long tradition of mound folk prior to that. The various kinds of alfar bear very little resemblance to the creatures of myth on the British Isles, though some of the concepts of ‘household spirit’ link into brownies and any number of similar creatures believed to help households all across Europe. It doesn’t help that ‘alfar’ is a rather broad term, appearing to describe a vast number of different, not very similar, entities found in Norse myth.
        The actual term ‘fairy story’ comes from the name of a book written in French.

        Now, if we’re talking Tolkien’s elves… those are heavily derived from Norse myth, with a really huge side order of Irish myth thrown in, but JRRT was really trying to get away from the Victorian fairy model.

        I blame the Victorians for just about everything. I’m sure they invented acne.

      • Well your seam to be well versed in that field so i bow to superior knowledge and in the end it is your univers i’m just a reader with a lot of untapped fantasy to make up fanfiction all of which is never to see the outside of my head

  12. Probably a completely useless comment, but at least going by German literature categories, the prologue probably wouldn’t be a fairy tale in the first place, it’d be a saga or legend. After all, it’s based on supposed historical events. Fairy tales aren’t.

    • I think your ar right concerning the nomenclature in Germany but as debated in erlyer post this is mor of a foklore story an that specific genre contains both

  13. Just an idea. I’ve got the impression as if this story and all the loose threads at its end call for a forum to exchange hypotheses and wild guesses about possible hints the author left in the text, which would spoil the fun for those who haven’t read it yet. Does such a forum exist anywhere?

Leave a Reply

