Frostburn Now

frostburn-cover1-amazon

For those waiting for the links:

19 responses to “Frostburn Now

  1. about 1/2 into and loving it. You do good work Niall and I enjoy reading it

  2. all read … now I have to wait for the next one. Curse my life…

  3. I don’t know if you know, and there’s no particular reason for you to care, but americans rarely measure things in yards. Mostly, it’s feet.

    About halfway through and loving it πŸ™‚

  4. Another great book. I would never have guessed correctly who’s wearing that “space suit” on the cover.

    As for “the next book”: Did you notice that we had a full moon at Summer Solstice this year? Just saying …

  5. Another great book. I know you are in the middle of writing. But is there a way you can make the picture of Cygnus and Twilight kissing at the camera?

  6. Really in joyed frost burn πŸ™‚ and it’s set up nicely for the next book:) but 2017/18 πŸ˜₯

    • That is an absolute and total guess. It might be earlier, but I’ve got books planned through to October, probably November/December, so I’d imagine I’m pushing the next Ultrahumans books into next year. They are actually pretty hard to write. They have several interwoven plots and getting it all to work together takes it out of me. I was surprised to get two out together and the next two really need to be released in quick succession when I do put them out, so it’s a fair bit of work.

  7. I just finished Frostburn for the second time. I read your book list at the end with the upcoming list, I was really looking forward to the next Fox book and got excited about the June 2016. But then I came down as I remember it was already July. I suppose I’ll will show some of the patience that I keep telling my kids to have.
    On another front I tried to rate Frostburn using the Kindle app at the end of reading and it didn’t work.

    • Wonder if I got the dates confused.
      Emergence is due this month, The Ghost in the Doll in August.
      As for the Kindle app thing… report to Amazon would be my bet. I don’t think I can do anything about it. I mean, if they gave me the code… Don’t think they will though and I’d have to stop writing for a while…

  8. I just finished reading it for the, uuhhhh… 3rd time I think. It’s great. Now I am wondering if there has been more than one Brightstar or if that’s an oops, maybe a plot thing though that seems unlikely to me. I made my comment vague to try to not spoil anything…

    • Only the one, that I know of. You never know with these characters. They slip things past you all the time. You’d have to explain what the ‘oops’ was.

      • In the first book Brightstar is mentioned as being part of the raid on Magmatics lair in 1988. Then she’s 27 years old in 2014… Something does not compute. I put it down to an oops (or ret-con as the comic industry calls it when they do it). Not earth-shattering by any means just something I noticed when I re-read the series.

      • I’ll check my calendar. You’re probably right and it’s a mistake. I seem to recall going over the dates when I was writing Frostburn and taking her out of the list for the Magmatic incident (though I may be misremembering that). What I was not aware of was that I’d already included her in the description of that event in the books. (Amazingly, keeping all of this in my head is beyond my aging memory. :))
        I didn’t have an official date of birth for Brightstar until I came up with the relationship between her and Adamantium, and that was while I was writing Hunting Mink. She’s yet another example of a throwaway character who suddenly got more page time and had to be fleshed out further. I get that a lot. Helen Dillan wasn’t originally intended to be more than a single-book incidental. Yuriko Fukui in Emergence is going to return in the next Fox book too.

      • Yeah, I figured it was something like that. I am not an author but I can imagine that keeping little things like that straight over time gets really difficult. I only noticed this one because I reread the series in quick succession. Yes the books are so good I do that quite often, that’s all the books not just this series.
        Keep up the good work! (even with the little mistakes) I certainly appreciate the results. πŸ™‚

  9. Great book, as yours always are. Almost done, just found a slight error.

    When they’re talking about the princes and their classifications they mention Binsfeld, but the names you’ve used are actually from the Lanterne of Light.

    Binsfeld uses: Lucifer, Mammon, Asmodeus, Leviathan, Beelzebub, Satan and Belphegor.

    Where as you and the Lanterne use: Lucifer, Beelzebub, Sathanus, Abaddon, Mammon, Belphegor and Asmodeus.

    Other than this error in source, very enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

