This Weak and Vague Posting

…is brought to you by a need to write something down.

I’ve been quiet, I know. I’ve got this fairly long post planned, probably for this weekend now. I was planning to do it today, but It’s going to be a little while before I write anything else after what I just wrote in the book I’m working on.

You’ll be happy to know that the reason for my silence is that I’m being productive. I don’t think my writing has gone quite this well since the early days of the Thaumatology books, so I really, really hope you guys are going to like Fox, because I really like writing her.

Except just now. I’ve been working up to this bit of the book for a while and I knew what was coming. It’s part of the plot, and it’s part of real life for some people, and I am beyond thankful that I cannot say I’m writing from personal experience. And I’m being vague to avoid giving away the plot, but I’ll say I’m going somewhere with this story that is maybe a little more serious than some of the stuff I write.

When you write, or when I do, you put yourself in there with your characters. To me, who started role-playing at thirteen, it’s like a roleplaying exercise. You put yourself in the story and you become that character for the time you’re writing them. I’ve just spent a good couple of hours writing something that upset my character, and I don’t think I was quite ready for my reaction to it. I really hope this comes over when you read this.

For right now, though, I’m going to have to do something else until I can get my head out of character-space. Otherwise going back in is going to be bad.

Have a good weekend, folks.

6 responses to “This Weak and Vague Posting

  1. You could always take a break by working on one of the other series such as The Sorcerer’s Symphony or Black Moon. I of course would be forced to buy any books produced just to ensure more in the series. Ceri & Lilly are still my first loves of your books.

  2. Out of curiosity, do any of your series seriously outperform (or underperform) the others? I know some poor authors whose best selling work isn’t what they enjoy writing the most so their publisher tends to “let” them write elsewhere more than is very happy about it. 🙂

    • The Thaumatology books have never sold as well as the others. Long-term, with the number of people who have bought them after reading my other stuff, they’re probably picking up, but a new Thaumatology book will generally be a slower sell than, say, a new Aneka book. (Sorry, Thaumatology fans, but it’s true and it doesn’t mean I won’t write more.) Reality Hack seemed to do well. It’s a little early to tell with Fox, but initial indications are that my enthusiasm isn’t wasted.

  3. Ah, that was pretty much what I figured. It matches what I have heard from other authors who do both a hard(ish?) SF and Fantasy series — the numbers never quite even out. I suspect Ugly is probably slightly lower than Thaumatology, but only because Thaum has had time to build up a following.

    The later Aneka books are the only ones I haven’t read of yours, at least that are easily located. For some reason I just couldn’t get into them — and I read plenty of Mil themed SF.

    • To each their own.

      The superhero books actually do better than Thaumatology, at least on immediate release. There are more like them appearing (probably because of the Avengers), but when I did Ugly the vast majority of published superhero fiction had heroines whose primary power was to support the weight of their chest and had self-destructing costumes. Not much serious stuff (and what there was was often far too serious, in my opinion). I think, like Aneka, I hit a spot in the market which was not getting much coverage. No idea whether that will continue now that superheroes are big, Hollywood business.

Leave a Reply

