Is It Friday Again?

And the answer is “no,” by the way, in case you’re reading this on a Friday.

This is one of my First World Problem problems: every day is Friday. Yesterday it felt like Friday, today feels like Friday, and tomorrow will feel like Friday. (On the plus side tomorrow is actually Friday so that’ll be good, unless it feels like Tuesday…) Basically, I now have more or less no structure to my life so all the days seem the same, and they seem to have settled on Friday. Could be worse; every day could be a Monday.

I’m hoping that this settles down as I get used to the idea that I’m self-employed and writing for a living. It isn’t like I’m treating this as an extended holiday; I am getting work done. But I can now do anything in any order (more or less) so it’s hard to decide what to do next. It’s like being in a sweet shop and being unable to decide what to buy because there’s too much choice. It’s also really hard to believe that it hasn’t even been two weeks yet. Time flies when all you have is Friday.

4 responses to “Is It Friday Again?

  1. I know how you feel, Niall. And speaking of structure, why not build one ?

  2. Like I said, it hasn’t even been 2 weeks. Structure will come. Unless you mean like, a real structure. Like, a tower in the back yard. I don’t think I’ll do that. 🙂

  3. Be glad you are so young and should be able to shed the work schedule set by someone else. I Am entering my 6th decade and I have reached the lofty state at my job where I can take a half hour lunch. I still feel like a slacker. Enjoy the freedom . Creativity operates at it’s own pace.

    • Well, it’s getting there. I’ve got something of a structured day. The structure is fairly dynamic and I still don’t know what day it is half the time, but it’s there.
      However, I’m a bit older than you think, I think. I turned fifty last year so I’ve entered my 6th decade.

Leave a Reply

